Reply-To address on outgoing e-mails is journal primary address, should be individual editor?

Context: I am a Systems Administrator who knows very little about OJS. I’m responsible for maintaining two servers hosting OJS instances. The person who actually set up these journals has left my institution, and the editors of the journals do not work for my institution. I’m in over my head with managing anything within OJS.

Problem: It was brought to my attention by one of the editors of one hosted journal that outgoing e-mails from the system all appear to be coming from the journal address (acmegeography@gmail.com) (which is fine), but that for some e-mail templates, the reply-to is defaulting to that journal address instead of going back to the editor’s address. Is there a way to change the reply-to setting to default to the editor who triggered the e-mail?

Apparently it was working the way they wanted it, until the recent upgrade from OJS v2.4.8.0 to v3.1.0.1

In particular, this is affecting the Review Request Oneclick template, and multiple Editor Decision templates, but there are probably others.

Additional Info: This OJS instance is configured to use Gmail SMTP.

I did find some related topics already:

That second one in particular intrigued me, as it sounds like there was a deliberate change at some point that would explain what’s happening, except for the fact that this journal was on a newer version than 2.4.6 before the upgrade.

Any help/advice would be really apreciated.

Hi @unbc_sysadmin,

The issue might actually be that you’re using Gmail SMTP; if I recall correctly, it automatically rewrites the sender to the account holder’s address. I’m not sure whether/how it affects the reply-to address. Do you have another SMTP server you could try using?

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team