[OJS3.2.1.1] Mail-Spam-Problem

Hello @ctgraham @asmecher,

we are facing the following problems with emails:
Emails sent through OJS are blocked by the spam filter, because the sending server uses the same domain as the reciever. Our IT deparment says »Ideally the mail Header->From doesn’t use our own domain, because this is classically classified as spam«.

Since I’m no pro with mail servers and configurations on this topic: What could I change on our OJS configuration, that the mails make it through the spam filters?

Thanks,
Tobias

See the following settings in config.inc.php:

You will want to set allow_envelope_sender, force_default_envelope_sender, and force_dmarc_compliant_from to be “On”, and you will want to set default_envelope_sender to be an email address trusted by whatever you are using for your mailserver (localhost, if smtp is “Off”, or the smtp_server if smtp is “On”).

Your mailserver must publish an SPF record which matches the domain of the default_envelope_sender. The easiest way to accomplish this is to either:

• Ask your IT department to include the mailserver in the current SPF record.
  • Use SMTP to connect to a mailserver which is already in your IT department’s SPF allowed list.

@ctgraham Thanks for your advice. I changed the mentioned settings:

allow_envelope_sender = On
default_envelope_sender = localhost
force_default_envelope_sender = On
force_dmarc_compliant_from = On

But now, no email is generated at all – I get the notification: “There was a problem sending an email message. Please try again later, or contact your system administrator.”

Thanks for your help!
Tobias

I figured out, that default_envelope_sender = localhost was the problem. If I change localhost to a valid email adress, emails are generated.

Okay, I’ll now test the behaviour of the spam filter on this and report.

Thanks,
Tobias

1 Like

@ctgraham Thank you very much – everything works fine now!

To sum it up: Changing the following entries in config.inc.php