OJS: Upgrading Database to 2.4.8 prevents logins

Hi,

I’m a CIS student working in my University’s library. We use OJS for our Archives department and today I updated it from 2.4.6 to 2.4.8.

I followed the instruction listed here: https://pkp.sfu.ca/ojs/UPGRADE. I downloaded and unzipped the geolitecity.dat. Then I used the upgrade.php tool to patch the code base and no errors were output. I then set installed to Off in config.inc.php and ran upgrade.php to upgrade the database and received no errors. Installed was then set back to On.

When I went to login OJS gave me an incorrect username or password prompt. As mentioned in this topic OJS: log-in problem after upgrade to 2.4.7-1 - #24 by asmecher I checked common.xml to see if the database had not upgraded correctly, but everything was correct. I decided to roll back the database, and I was able to log in again. Checking the version info of OJS tells me that I now have code version 2.4.8 but database version 2.4.6.

Any idea why updating the database to 2.4.8 would be preventing me from logging in?

Thank you,
Jake

Hi @jstrojny,

After the upgrade, was the password column of the users table extended to a capacity of 255 characters? If not, then your database upgrade probably didn’t complete successfully. I’d suggest restoring your database from backup and trying the upgrade script again. You should receive a confirmation message that the upgrade was successful.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team

Yes it was extended to 255. I saw that you mentioned it here OJS: log-in problem after upgrade to 2.4.7-1 - #24 by asmecher and checked it before doing anything else. I also already re-attempted the upgrade and it still has not worked.

Hi @jstrojny,

Do you receive a “successfully upgraded” message upon upgrading? If not, then the upgrade process probably isn’t completing successfully.