Failed Ajax request or invalid JSON error with quickSubmit plugin Add Contributor

Description of issue or problem I’m having:

ERROR: Failed Ajax request or invalid JSON with quickSubmit plugin ADD CONTRIBUTOR
Just started today. Used the plugin with no problems previously.

Steps I took leading up to the issue:

Added the Author Requirements plugin via FTP.
Disabling the plugin is not a fix.

What I tried to resolve the issue:

Removed and re-uploaded the quickSubmit plugin
Restored site to previously functioning back-up.
Searched and searched again this forum.
Not sure what to look for - I am not a developer.

Application Version - e.g., OJS 3.1.2:

OJS 3.3.0.9 , PHP v7

Additional information, such as screenshots and error log messages if applicable:

https://ejssm.com/ojs/log/

1 Like

Hi @soj,

We don’t recommend installing plugins like this. The recommended method is to install them through the Plugin Gallery. Have you tried that? It’s possible that the specific plugin that you’re using is not in the Plugin gallery, in which case, you should at least ensure that it’s been tested to be compatible with the version of OJS you’re using. Do you have a link to the plugin that you can provide here? You mention that you’re using version 3.3.0-9, which isn’t released yet - are you sure that’s the correct version. I checked your site and it appears that you’re using version 3.3.0-8.

-Roger
PKP Team

Thank you very much for your response. Yes, my mistake! The install is in latest version, 3308. I

have restored the site via backup to a point where everything is working again so far. The problem appears to have been the uploading of the AuthorRequirements plugin (which I really, really need, as several of our back issues are student efforts with up to 10 authors listed).