Exec PHP plugin error message

Hi All,

I’m new to OJS, and have limited web-dev and coding knowledge, so any help with this inquiry is greatly appreciated.

I am currently in the process of installing OJS (v. OJS 3.1.2) for a small journal that I help manage on behalf of the International Commission for the History of Meteorology. (https://meteohistory.org/ojs/index.php/journal/index)

I am having issues installing plug-ins – in particular the Quick Submit plug-in so that I can quickly upload the 10 years or so of back issues that we have in PDF format. (I don’t know enough to be able to go the XML route I’m afraid).

When I try to install Quick Submit through the plug-in library, or any other plug in such as the Hypothes.is one I get an error message which reads:

“exec PHP function has been disabled on your server”

I have worked with my web host, who has enabled the exec function and checked that all of my other PHP settings are as required for the Quick Submit plug-in.

I’ve tried uploading the tar.gz file, for Quick Submit, and get the same error message (attached)

I’ve also joined GitHub and searched the PKP forums, but can’t seem to find the info I require.

Have you come across this error before, and do you know how I can rectify it?

Any help greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Alexexec PHP function - 2

Hi @AlexHall,

If you’re still getting the message The "exec" PHP function has been disabled on your server, then I don’t think your sysadmin has correctly enabled it. You can see the line of code that generates this message:

if (in_array('exec', explode(',', ini_get('disable_functions'))))
    throw new Exception('The "exec" PHP function has been disabled on your server. Contact your system adminstrator to enable it.');