Why so many bugs?

Although I am a novice programmer, I have installed various open-source software successfully and start using them basically without any major bugs. Leave alone customization of installation in the next level, I have a big doubt about OJS.
Why does OJS is too buggy? although its documentation is so detailed illustrating the well structured process, the installation is not behaving as the documentation says?
Mails are not going, setups are too buggy. processes are incomplete.
Does this mean one can not install OJS’ as it is’ and start using? Are we forced to buy some hosting? I have installed OJS 3.0.2 through my cpanel. Since from installation, never a process is completed without bugs.
For example, Moodle also is a opensource, anyone can oneclick install and start using without any difficulty. but OJS which is portrayed as community development, its too buggy to start with.
Apologies to criticize but this is my experience!

1 Like

Hi,

I agree that there are many bugs in OJS3 at the moment. However, it is a software that was released just a few months ago and probably has a far smaller developer group than for example Moodle. But since 3.0.2. I have not come across to any major OJS bugs. Nothing that would prevent me from sending emails or completing processes all the time. I would like to help, but I do not have experience in installing OJS through cpanel. Based on the bried description of problems you gave, I would guess that you are getting some php related errors and those errors are breaking the setup pages and other processes.

2 Likes

Thanks for your thoughyful reply. i indeed installed successfully. whatever
I do still registration emails are not going And after sending
submissions to copyeditor the files not appearing in the copyeditors tab.
Atleast these two are main ones i am encountering now.

By registration emails, do you mean registartion of new users (just to be sure)?