Preventing self-registration without journal roles

Greetings!

I use 3.3.0.13 (still). As the OJS admin, I have earned the new title of “bouncer” who catches potential spammers registering themselves without any role (author, reader, reviewer) in any of the journals and I throw them out. Now, this has recently become a nuisance! Luckily, there are only a handful, and I have started to save their phpmyadmin entries. They use bogus emails and users names and are up to no good. This is of course my impression only after checking them in the journals first (we have 5). If I do not find them in the journal user lists, I can only disable or delete them using phpmyadmin via the cpanel because they do not appear in any of the journals where I could disable or remove them. I have been using recaptcha for several years and the config.inc.php file is set up that way as well.

Question: What can I do to block repeat-offender users in the OJS environment? While the cPanel offers an IP Blocker feature, the users table in phpmyadmin does not have an IP column, which would be helpful. I have access to the Apache server logs, but do nto know what lines I should look for. IP addresses do show in the log, so if I could identify the user in the log, I could add them to the IP Blocker.

Also: Is there a platform-level plugin (not used by any journal but one accessible to OJS admins) or a cPanel feature that I could query and block such users? Thank you for any helpful pointers in advance!

Arjun, the Bouncer (@asabhar)

Hi @asabhar,

Have a look in the sessions table for IP address information. But you might also have a look at the akismet and form honeypot plugins, which are available in the plugin gallery.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team

Thank you very much, Alec.