OJS 3.0.1 is not sending any emails

I have a new installation of OJS 3.0.1. I am new to OJS so I apologize if my question is simple. I log in as the manager and create a journal. I tell it to send email to my address but I never receive it. I am running on RHEL 7.3 and can send email via postfix and sendmail. When I try to send from OJS there is nothing in the maillog . in OJS in the classes/mail folder there are only 2 php files. Is that correct.
Also, is there an easier way to test sending mail from OJS.

Hi @smithmich,

It sounds like smtp is set to Off in your config.inc.php. That should use your local MTA (e.g. Sendmail), which in turn should cause something to get logged in your serverā€™s email sending log.

In any case, we use the PHPMailer library, which is invoked in lib/pkp/classes/mail/Mail.inc.php in the send function. Iā€™d suggest putting some debugging output there to help debug.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team

Thanks, I reinstalled and it works now. Using the PHPMailer.and the SMTP Mail Settings.

Dear,

I have OJS3 installed, sending Emails does not work, I tried to use the SMTP=on but still does not work, can you please give me the exact configuration to use, its like one week I am stuck here and I can not progress.

Using SMTP will require a configuration including an SMTP server, and probably a username and password, all of which will be specific to your account with your mail service provider. Check with your providerā€™s support for the appropriate SMTP settings.

I did contact my G suite support and they provide me those configurations, as well we did some configuration in G suite SMTP relay service but hopeless does not work, it seems there is problem with OJS it self

; Use SMTP for sending mail instead of mail()
smtp = On

; SMTP server settings
smtp_server = smtp.gmail.com
smtp_port = 587

; Enable SMTP authentication
smtp_auth = TLS
smtp_username = ā€œusernameā€
smtp_password = ā€œpasswordā€