Migrating a journal from another location

I am trying to migrate my journal from another location. The files are in pdf format and there are 10 years of articles. as a Newb how do I go about doing this to OJS especially as I am very new to the system.

Hi @marcsardy,

Basically there are two options:

1. Use Quick submit plugin and manually copy all data from old location to the OJS. Not a big deal, just a lot of mainly copy&paste work
  2. Use Native XML import functionality. For that, you need a tool that takes data from old location and creates XML files that can be imported into OJS

Depending on the number of articles and the possibility of implementing such a tool you should see what is feasible for you. By my experiences usually, the first option is cheaper/easier.

Regards, Primož

The only quick submit plugins I see want XML or is there another location for those plugins to be added?

I should add I can see the code but I am not sure how to bring that in to OJS? How do I create the plugin in the OJS journal site?

Hi @marcsardy,

Do not mix QuickSubmit Plugin and Native XML Plugin. The second requires XML as I explained above. The first is to manualy enter the data. Maybe you have to enable it: Settings-Website-Plugins-Plugin gallery (in OJS3 - btw, which OJS version are you using?).

Regards, Primož

I am using version 3 . I enabled it but it does not let me upload pdf or when I convert files to XML or DOCX files. it finds faults with Microsoft .

So I was able to upload an article using quicksubmit. I am not sure if I should use XML format or just a PDF. Can I re-edit any of the inputs as I get them like Keywords , JEL classifications ? How do I group the articles into a journal volume? Do I have to go through the whole submission /acceptance for quicksubmit to make it active on the site?

Thanks in advance,
Marc

Hi @marcsardy,