[Maybe a bit off topic] My month with OJS, some general feedback to whom it may concern at PKP

First things first, I’m not a web developer, I’m a social worker. In fact I know very little about coding but have some experience working with WordPress here and there.

As an editor’s assistant at a journal of social work I’m in charge of finding a tool to get our journal into the 21st century. Also I’m looking into starting an open access journal with some friends of mine (of course: on a budget, eg. with no budget at all).

To be very clear: I herewith do not wish to criticise/attack PKP per se nor any of its staff who are all doing an amazing job whilst being ‘on a budget’ (which I guess is much much smaller than WordPress). Also I am very thankful that such a project even exists. I have not found anything else like it.

However there are a few things I noticed in the month of testing OJS and hanging around on this forum I’d like to talk about. Please see these remarks as a ‘contribution’ to improve PKP.

#1 Problems

In this month of using OJS (3.2.0-1 and 3.2.0-3) I have reported a few issues among which

a) List of countries all over the place instead of alphabetical order
b) Javascript error dialogs displaying while reviewing a submission
c) In the discussions reviewers could see the author’s name despite being double-blind review
d) Instructions/Descriptions missing from review forms while reviewing

Again: I’m no web developer so the testing was purely ‘as a user’.

That’s quite a few problems there for one month I think (some where already know, some weren’t). In my opinion all of the above could and should have been caught by the developer team before releasing to the public doing what I did: register as a section editor, as an author/submitting an article, as a reviewer and test the whole process. Which is annoying and time consuming yes but all of the above are basic functionalities and should be quite apparent in a normal testing process.