How to include JavaScript dependencies in OJS plugin project

Description of issue or problem I’m having:
I’m implementing an OJS plugin that as a few JavaScript libraries as dependencies. I’m looking for advice on how to include these into my project. I’d prefer not to include them via a CDN, because I don’t want users to have to rely on a CDN (that might track their activity).

Steps I took leading up to the issue:
Currently I have a little PHP script that downloads the required libraries and saves them in a folder js/lib within my plugin. But that of course means that I have external code (with different licenses) within my project. I have no experience yet with releasing a plugin to the gallery, but that is planned.

What I tried to resolve the issue:
So far I’m trying to think hard if my approach is feasible and I looked around at other plugins but did not find any common practices.
Is it better to have a package.json to load the dependencies? Both with my script and a package.json I could include downloading the dependencies in my release process, so that releases will include all needed files.

Hi @nuest,

Have you seen our plugin guide: https://docs.pkp.sfu.ca/dev/plugin-guide/en/getting-started? It provides some guidance for how plugins should be structured.

-Roger
PKP Team

Thanks Roger for the pointer - I’m aware of the guide, but didn’t see an example for how to handle multiple JavaScript files. The section in question (https://docs.pkp.sfu.ca/dev/plugin-guide/en/examples-styles-scripts) has an example for a local CSS but also remote files.

Is it recommended to load JS dependencies from a CDN when they are registered?

Note that the section of the guide also mentions the enable_cdn option which is AFAIK not available in OJS 3.3+.

Thanks, @nuest.

Perhaps the guidance might be a little outdated and could stand to be updated, as you’re right around the enable_cdn not being an available option so far as I can tell. @NateWr - any thoughts on this?

-Roger