How to disable certain e-mail templates?

Hi folks. This is my first time on this very neat forum. :smile_cat:

I’m having trouble tying to figure out how to disable e-mail templates at will. I’m an Admin on the site, and one of my Authors is complaining that there are way too many templates, that it’s cumbersome to go through the whole list to find one of them, and that it would be better to keep only those that we intend to use.

While I agree, I’m stuck at Home > Manage Journal > Email Templates (just translated the breadcrumb line from the Spanish version I use, hope the English original reads more or less the same) gazing at the screen without knowing quite what to do.
I can see that some of the templates can be disabled, but not all of them. Worse still, we need to disable templates that do not allow disabling.

I’ve tried locating the file that contains the templates in order to start from there, but no luck.

What to do?

Hi @Bestiola,

Authors shouldn’t have access to the list of email templates; are you referring to the Journal Manager?

Which email templates do you want to disable? The ones that cannot be disabled are generally purely voluntary, so there’s no need to disable them. Disabling an email template won’t remove it from the “Prepared Emails” list, which is admittedly long.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team

Hi Alec, and thanks for replying.

Authors shouldn’t have access to the list of email templates; are you referring to the Journal Manager?

I’ve now switched to the English version, and I’m on Home > Journal Management > Prepared Emails.
My Authors have the role of Admin until we have all of the OJS set and ready; that’s why they can access all administration nooks and crannies.

The request for hiding some of the Prepared Emails comes from an author who doesn’t want to wade through all the list to find the templates we intend to use. He sent me a list of unwanted templates:

• All templates beginning with BFR
  • EMAIL LINK