Cannot view the pdf on the browser

I have an institutional subscriber that is having some problem viewing a PDFs on their browser (in-line) when they are accessing from home (off-campus). Access is via their IP address, and they are using a proxy server. The are experiencing problems on Chrome and Safari from their Mac. Another user confirmed same issue in Windows, but did not specify browser. I am using the latest stable release.

Interestingly, they can download the PDF from home (off-campus), but cannot get the article to display in their browser.

They are getting this error. Anyone know what could be causing this issue?

PDF.js v1.0.907 (build: e9072ac)
Message: Unexpected server response (0) while retrieving PDF “http://www.domain.com/index.php/journal/article/viewFile/1112/4561”

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Hi @newone,

If I provide you with my IP address, would you be willing to create a temporary subscribed user for me to test locally with?

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team

1 Like

Hi Alec,

Sure, I can do that.

You can email the IP address to me.

Newone

A big thanks to Alec for identifying the issue.

This is what happened. In case, anyone else comes across a similar issue. The short answer is that this is an EzProxy issue. The issue resolves around the way EzProxy handles (or proxy) JavaScript. Given that the URL of the PDF in Open Journal Systems is encoded in JavaScript (as confirmed by Alec), and there are some incompatibility with JavaScript and EzProxy, it was producing the error detailed above.

We had finally resolved the issue, and all is working now.

Newone

1 Like

Hai… i have the same problem… with the pdf view… my OJS is 3.02. previously the pdf view is not in trouble. However somehow, today i got the problem… I got error message like this…
PDF.js v1.5.188 (build: 0e2d50f)
Message: Unexpected server response (204) while retrieving PDF “http://domain.ac.id/index.php/JSAI/article/download/15/11/”.