Bluebook citation style

Hi all,

I’m new to OJS. I’m wondering if anyone is using the Bluebook citation format in their OJS instance. If so, might you be able to advise on how to add it to the Citation Style Language plugin.

@asmecher Hey Alec, is there any documentation on how we can add another .csl style to the citationStyleLanguage/citation-styles folder and use it on the OJS interface?

I’m poking around here

Bluebook from Zotero is the CSL we want to add
http://www.zotero.org/styles/bluebook-law-review

If you can help point us in the right direction, I’m happy to help document the process… we’re trying to get our Law School on board. Thank you!

Hi @wilsonw,

See plugins/generic/citationStyleLanguage/CitationStyleLanguagePlugin.inc.php in the getCitationStyles function. Each entry, e.g.:

array(
    'id' => 'acm-sig-proceedings',
    'title' => __('plugins.generic.citationStyleLanguage.style.acm-sig-proceedings'),
    'isEnabled' => true,
),

…defines a single citation style. The id entry defines the .csl file’s filename – in the example above, it’s referring to plugins/generic/citationStyleLanguage/citation-styles/acm-sig-proceedings.csl.

You should be able to add a new entry for the desired style, put its .csl file in place (if it’s not there already), and check the settings form to see if it appears there.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team

1 Like

Thank you @asmecher for the guidance. That worked in adding the citation to the settings interface.

However, when clicking on the Bluebook citation under How to Cite, I get a 500 Server Error with the following log

http://ojs.stanford.edu/ojs/index.php/SLSSJ/article/view/1456

PHP Fatal error: Call to a member function render() on null in /ojs/plugins/generic/citationStyleLanguage/lib/vendor/seboettg/citeproc-php/src/Seboettg/CiteProc/CiteProc.php on line 134
PHP Stack trace:
PHP 1. {main}() /ojs/index.php:0
PHP 2. PKPApplication->execute() /ojs/index.php:68