Add Authors to Future and Back Issues' "Table of Contents"

Hello folks! Recently I faced with my editors’ request to have a better view of the future issue’s table of contents. Working on a ToC with many papers is really difficult, because very often the articles have similar titles and it’s hard to recreate a right order.

I edited just two php files (on OJS 3.3.0-6) to get this list with the author/title view:

Authors_on_FutureIssues

I want to share it with the community for three reasons. (a) I’m not a coding expert, so I’d like if someone could check my changes! (b) I hope it can be useful for other users and (c) I want know if it’s a common necessity.

In this case, I’d love if it can become a new feature for next releases. Obviously it would mean that I don’t have to change my code with every update!

Instruction to edit files

To change the Table of Contents, I edited just two files. The first one is /controllers/grid/toc/TocGridHandler.inc.php. You need to find these lines that managed the unique standard column (about titles)…

// Article title
    $this->addColumn(
        new GridColumn(
            'title',
            'article.title',
            null,
            null,
            $tocGridCellProvider
        )
    );

…and replace them with the following ones. They add a new column with authors; furthermore, they resize both column with an horizontal ratio of 25/75%.

// Article author
  $this->addColumn(
  	new GridColumn(
  		'author',
  		'article.author',
  		null,
  		null,
  		$tocGridCellProvider,
  		['width' => 24 /*percent*/, 'maxLength' => 25 /*digits*/]
  	)
  );

// Article title
  $this->addColumn(
  	new GridColumn(
  		'title',
  		'article.title',
  		null,
  		null,
  		$tocGridCellProvider,
  		['width' => 74 /*percent*/]
  	)
  );