OJS Development Priorities Survey

Sharing on behalf of the PKP Technical Committee:


Are you a journal or publisher using Open Journal Systems (OJS)? If yes, the Public Knowledge Project’s (PKP) Technical Committee needs your help!

The PKP Technical Committee has created a survey to help PKP identify development priorities for Open Journal Systems (OJS). All we need is 20 minutes of your time to learn more. If you are a journal editor or manager, or a regular user of the journal management features in OJS, please complete the following survey by March 12, 2021.


If this survey does not apply and/or if you know of others who may be interested, please feel free to forward this message.


The PKP Technical Committee is a community-led committee that provides technical input and advice on PKP’s software development priorities. Like you, we are users of PKP software. In 2020, our committee discussed the need to acquire more feedback about what you - the OJS user community - feel are the most important directions for the software.

For our first survey, we decided to focus on understanding priorities for journal managers and editors. We reviewed and consolidated OJS feature requests from the past two years, including those found on the PKP Community Forum and PKP GitHub repository. Though some of the features identified in this survey are already in progress and/or under consideration per PKP’s Roadmap, we need your help to further prioritize as well as to identify additional needs.

We hope this will be the first of many opportunities to engage more directly with you about your priorities. Your participation will help not only provide invaluable input to the PKP team, it will also support the Technical Committee to fulfill its responsibility to recommend technical directions to PKP and the PKP Advisory Committee.

If you have any questions about this survey, please contact Sonya Betz, PKP Technical Committee Chair, Sonya Betz, at sonya.betz(@)ualberta.ca. You can also find more information in this Q&A on the PKP blog.

With thanks,

The PKP Technical Committee

Sonya Betz (Chair, University of Alberta)
Marc Bria (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona)
Clinton Graham (University of Pittsburgh)
Alex Mendonça (SciELO)
Antti-Jussi Nygård (at-large member)
Alec Smecher (PKP)
Ronald Steffen (Free University Berlin)
Marco Tullney (at-large member)
Dulip Withanage (TIB Hannover)