EasyStat for OJS

Hi guys… I am trying to develop a Stat Counter for OJS. Today, I installed it for our journal. I hope it can help others. It is just a simple stat counter that counts Visitors, Unique Visitors, and PageViews. Perhaps, we can develop it to be better. Here is how it appears:

The image is removed because it contains my IP Address.

If you are interested to try, you can download and see the instructions from my blog [here]. If you want to see how it works, you can see our journal statistic page [here]. Thank you.
Any suggestions will be appreciated, but please, I am not an experienced programmer.

Links have been removed because the pages are no longer available.

1 Like

Nice work. Thanks a lot for sharing.

Two fast questions to understand the work and the motivation:
a) Why did you decide to develop a new app instead of use existing third-party ones like Plausible o Matomo?
b) As you will probably know, GoogleAnalytics is declared illegal in some countries of the UE because it stores the user’s IP address (that is considered personal data). Is your plugin storing this data too? If it’s, is there any plan to hash or anonymize it to be GDPR-compliant?

Thanks again for this great contribution.

Cheers,
m.

1 Like

Thank you very much for making me aware of the IP address and GDPR. I was not aware of it. Currently, the program stores the user’s IP Address for the program to count the unique visitors. I will try to hash or anonymize it (any suggestion about how to do it will be much appreciated). The reason why I decided to develop this app instead of using existing third-party apps is that I want a smaller app, easy to use, fast-loading, simpler, free (free to use and free to change, open-source), and I want to develop my programming skill. The most important reason, however, I want to contribute as best as I can to provide a StatCounter alternative. The program is now withdrawn from the internet. I will improve it.

2 Likes