REST API Completion

Dear PKP Team,

First of all, thank you for all your effort in providing high quality open source projects. I have personally not used them yet, but I am a developer considering to implement and use OJS.

I hope my question does not sound silly. I was looking at the OJS Rest API development and wondering if there is a current expectation as when more APIs such as the payment ones and the rest of the project will be completed. This will help me better understand how to plan the release of our idea and possibly contribute to the OJS project.

Thank you,
Mikael

Hi @Gicminos,

Not a silly question at all! Our API development is driven by use cases at the moment, and one of those is a goal of gradually rewriting MVC-style parts of the code to use the API natively. However it’s a big codebase and our need to do that is generally driven by some other need to improve that code in a way that justifies a rewrite. The payment stuff traditionally hasn’t received a ton of emphasis as much of our community doesn’t use it.

Meanwhile there are two paths forward:

1. Contribute to the API! This is the best of all worlds. We would be happy to guide you on standards and conventions.
  2. If you need to interact with an outside system but don’t want to develop a full fledged API endpoint, you could use existing tools like a gateway plugin to expose a part of the system for invocation by an external service.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team

Hello @asmecher,
Thank you so much for your answer. If we start this project we will definetly end up contributing to OJS!

The gateway plugin looks interesting. Do you know where all the available plugins are listed or where I could find a gateway plugin that could help with our project?

Thank you again,
Mikael Giacomini

Hi @Gicminos,