OJS Mac Installation

I am a newbie to database management and unix/linux installations. Recently, I have been trying to install the OJS on my Macbook Pro. I have successfully installed PostgreSQL, but now I don’t know how to install the rest of the package. I don’t know whether I need to install the OJS inside the PostgreSQL account or in the same account (Admin) from where I installed the Database software (PostgreSQL). and how to install the OJS package.
I will appreciate if some one can send me the step by step documentation necessary for the installation.

Thanks

Hi @rbhat,

Have you installed a web server such as Apache?

What is your goal with this installation – just to explore OJS a little bit?

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team

Hi Alec,
No, I have not installed anything else, I believe Apache is already
installed in Mac OS X.
I am trying to explore the possibility of hosting the sever for a online
journal.

Thanks,

Rakesh

Hi @rbhat,

I would suggest trying MAMP, which contains all the server software necessary in a single bundle. Alternately, if you just want to test OJS, then you could try our testdrive installation; see https://pkp.sfu.ca/ojs/docs/userguide/2.3.1/overviewTestDrive.html for details.

Regards,
Alec Smecher

Hi Alec,
Thanks for the initial inputs, I have installed the MAMP, now how do i Install and setup OJS?

Thanks.

Rakesh

Hi @rbhat,

Follow the installation instructions in the OJS package in docs/README, and if you get stuck on any particular element, search the forums and post here if you can’t find an answer already posted.

Regards,
Alec Smecher

I have been getting following error:
ERRORS OCCURRED DURING INSTALLATION: A database error has occurred: Access denied for user ‘’@‘localhost’ to database ‘ojs’
I tried to search on the forum as well as googling but got nothing which was helpful.

Appreciate the help.

Best,

Rakesh

Hi @rbhat,