OJS/Lucene/Solr and other site

Hello,

I use Lucene with my OJS which utilizes Solr. I installed Solr according to the plugin documentation so it resides in the plugin directory. Now I have other site (not OJS) for which I wanted to use Solr. I was wondering if I could use the already installed Solr? The other site requires replacing the Solr default schema.xml and I am not sure how it could influence the OJS. This file was not replaced (at least manually) when configuring Lucene. Anyone has experience with that and could share it?

Thanks,

I’d like to get back to this question. If, on the same server, I want to use another webapp that utilizes solr (not OJS), as I understand Lucene documentation, should I use central server mode for solr?

Hi @piotreba

Hmmm… I have no experience with Solr except for OJS and in “embedded server mode”, but I think you could also use the same Solr installation for another application if that application is on the same server as OJS. The “embedded server mode” means that everything is provided to easily run and use Solr within OJS – the Solr is running locally (localhost) and knowing that all parameters, configurations, scripts are prepared and ready to securely run and work with OJS. Thus, this is similar to having the Solr installed anywhere on the same server/machine i.e. running locally – just that the OJS plugin provides everything needed for the installation and configuration, so that it can easily be run and used with OJS. Thus I believe you could change it so that it also works with your other application. It would be the same as installing the Solr on the same machine and configuring it to work for both. As far as I understand it, you would above all need to configure multiple cores in Solr. For OJS you could reuse the current configurations provided in the lucene plugin. Thereby you would need to consider if the other application is independent or if it should use the OJS search results.