Nav header in two rows

I’m new to this, but trying to understand the platform to design a journal site for my company. This is partly an aesthetics question and partly HTML/CSS question.

By default, the nav header seems to be structured as 2 rows. Here’s the relevant html code

<header>
  <div class="container-fluid">
    <div class="row">
      <ul id="navigationUser" ...></ul>
    </div>
  </div>
  <div class="container-fluid">
    <div class="navbar-header">...</div>
    <div class="nav-menu">...</div>
  </div>
</header>

Personally, this doesn’t look right to me. Is there an example of an OJS3 site where this looks good?

If I were to change this into one line, would you recommend I change the underlying HTML template? (I am under the impression this is frowned upon because it might break future template upgrades.)

Or should I change the CSS?
I used {position:absolute} to move the first .content-fluid inline with the 2nd, but this seems brittle and breaks responsiveness.

Your thoughts appreciated.

Hi @inferlinkdev,

That looks like you’re using the Bootstrap3 theme, right? I think you’ll want to look at the documentation for the navbar component in Bootstrap3:

So the <header> element is the navbar component:

And how you order these is up to you. The way that Bootstrap works is that you define the components using re-usable classes. So that kind of means modifying the template file.

If I were in your position, I might seek to move the #navigationUser alongside .nav-menu. But beware that you may end up with too much content in the navbar to fit on a screen before the collapsed nav kicks in.

Thanks for the reply @NateWr! Would you happen to know any great examples of OJS3 sites where they keep the nav header html intact and just modify the CSS? I would prefer not to modify the template if I don’t have to.

Hi @inferlinkdev,