Link Spam using profiles on OJS - How can I delete profile and/or links. I dont have login info for any

Good afternoon, I am a proud graduate from Simon Fraser University and firstly, its nice to see this software is so proliferated around the world.

Our website has been spammed by web links coming from profile links on 23 OJS sites.
Is it possible to delete these profiles / links ?

Here is an example of 2:
http://socialwork.journals.ac.za/pub/user/viewPublicProfile/24491
http://journal.um-surabaya.ac.id/index.php/qanunmedika/user/viewPublicProfile/29668

It’s pointing to my site and it’s clearly spam and it’s hurting our site on google’s ranking algorithm.

We are losing a lot of business. I think there may be a lot of other fake profiles on OSJ.

Can someone please let me know how I can go about getting these deleted?

Thank you very much, Richard.

Hi @richardmorrison,

Thanks, I’m also a proud SFU grad!

Public user profiles are only visible for users that have created at least one comment on a published article. The article commenting system is an attractive vehicle for spam, so I’d suggest disabling it on all journals, unless you specifically need it; other tools like Hypothes.is are better suited for adding commentary to published content anyway.

If you’re sure that you don’t want to preserve any article comments, you can remove them from the comments database table. That will automatically take the public profiles offline for users who no longer have comments attributed to them. Reviewing the entries in comments might also give you a good list of spam users – see tools/mergeUsers.php for a way to remove these accounts in batch.

I’d also suggest planning for an upgrade to OJS 3.x; it’s a lot of work but the software is much more modern.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team

@asmecher Thanks for you insights!
I am actually calling the 23 parties affected and that have links pointed at my domain one by one and I will suggest this to them!