Is it possible to have OJS3 and OJS2 installed in the same server directory?

Hello, I wanted to know if it is possible to have OJS3 in the same directory as a previous instance in OJS2. The reason for keeping OJS2 is to use it as a legacy web archive and keep the SEO related, not to be used regularly.

Thank you very much.

I’m new to OJS, but have quite a bit of experience on other platforms, I think you will need to create a separate subdirectory since you want both to be accessible. You don’t mention what your current directory structure is, but if you currently have something like www/ojs2, you can make a new directory www/ojs3 for the new installation.

If you plan to keep your old data from OJS2 in your OJS3 installation and continue adding to it, then you will need to create a copy of the old database for use with OJS3. I’m pretty sure that these two versions will not work accessing the same database .

Someone with more experience with OJS, please confirm what I have said!

Thank you!

My structure is www/ojs2 and www/ojs3

OJS3 is a new installation with a new associated database. I was interested in moving the content of OJS3 to the OJS2 directory to maintain accessibility to old articles and SEO.

If I point my domain .com to www/ojs3, the access to the articles on www/ojs2 is lost.

Any other suggestions?

You can move data folder too and make upgraded version of old OJS installation. As far as I know you can’t directly connect to old/OJS 2 pdf files since they do have a lot of database inter-related entries and it is not just one link.

Not only is the database incompatible across versions 2 and 3, but also the files_dir. You can have both versions installed on the same server, but you will need two copies of everything: source code, private files, and database.

You could put a link using the “Additional Content” function in Settings/Website/Appearance like:

<h2><a href="…/ojs2/index.php">Visit our old site here!</a></h2>