Increased search functionalities

I am fairly new to OJS and I have found the search somewhat too minimal. As an example, we use additional refinement terms (Disciplines) but they are not included in the search the system performs. We have done several tests and found the following:

Not included in the search
Subtitle
Keywords
Sections
Discipline (additional refinement)
Language (additional refinement)

Included in the search
Title
Author affiliations
Abstract

I think it would be useful to a lot of journals to access additional searching.
If I am wrong and OJS actually allows searching by these fields, please let me know…
Thank you for the excellent work on this programme!
Lucia

2 Likes

Is there any hope in sight for enhanced search capabilities? The existing search capability (I’m using v. 3.1.X) is anemic, to put it politely. The “keyword” search finds every single mention of a word in an article’s full-text PDF, instead of limiting it to the keyword metadata. While full-text search should be an OPTION, the default search by keyword should be for the keywords in the article’s metadata. Otherwise too many results come up that only tangentially mention the keyword. It should also allow filtering by section, by corresponding author vs. all authors, and other filters. It looks like I’ll need to install Google Custom Search, but I believe that will look through everything on our website rather than just within articles. Does anyone have suggestions on enhancing OJS’s search capabilities?

Hi all,

There are limits to how far the built-in (custom) OJS search engine will get you – to go beyond that, I’d recommend something like the Lucene/SOLR. There’s active work on this by the excellent ojs.de group – see GitHub - ojsde/lucene: Plugin for Solr/Lucene support in OJS. for details.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team