I can't find the 'Issues' menu in the sidebar either as Journal Manager or Journal Editor

Hello,

For the life of me I cannot find where to publish an issue from. There is no ‘Issues’ menu in my left sidebar. I logged in with Journal Manager and with Journal Editor, still nothing. Do I still need to enable something?

I’m very new to OJS3 (and OJS in general) but I quickly managed to get a child theme working; went through all the workflow with an article, got it to production and now the Issues section is nowhere to be found.

Hi @Alex_Protopopescu,

On the left-hand sidebar in a Journal Manager’s Dashboard, try the “Issues” menu. If you have your issue listed in Future Issues, spin out the menu of options by the issue and click “Publish Issue”.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team

Hello,Yes, reading the documentation I expected to find the ‘Issue’ menu in the left-hand side-bar while logged in as JM or JE, but it is not there. Please see screenshot attached.

Hi @Alex_Protopopescu,

What exact version of OJS are you using? (It’s generally useful to include this in your posts.)

Regards,
Alec Smecher

Hello,

The version I’m using is “Current version: 3.0.1.0 (January 3, 2017 - 11:37 AM)”.

EDIT: After you released OJS3 somewhere around late Aug last year, I downloaded that version and installed it and remember that I couldn’t find the Issues menu then too. But somehow I got it working then, only I can’t remember how. It wasn’t something server related I think, maybe it was something to do with a setting in the admin web interface.

If you have the time I can PM you the credentials for the installation.

Thank you!

Alex

Hi @Alex_Protopopescu,

The only cause of this I can think of is that your account doesn’t have a Journal Manager role. Can you double-check this? Have you edited the default roles in your installation?

Regards,
Alec Smecher

I haven’t edited the default roles.

The vc_admin user I’m using has the following roles: