Getting a HTTP 500 error

Hello,

I have a serious problem with my OJS site. I’m getting a HTTP 500 error when trying to load the page. At first I though it was an error with PHP in the old server so I updated it to Windows Server 2012 and PHP seems to work fine. I’m new to OJS and I’m looking for possible explanations of this.

Hi @jonycodes,

A 500 error generally indicates that a more detailed error was logged in your web server’s error log. Check there for details.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team

I checked the PHP errors log, and there’s nothing there. What other error log can I check? I’ve checked multiple log files in the event viewer and nothing. I’ve been reading some of the OJS documentation and the one I have it’s very old: 1.2.7, it looks like that one is not compatible with Windows Server 2012. Would you recommend updating to the newest OJS version?

Hold on I also got his error:

Failed to query the results of bpa xpath: Microsoft/Windows/WebServer:$reports$$latestreport$\Discovery.xml:$creationtime$. error: The system cannot find the file specified., last error: The system cannot find the path specified…

In the server manager log

Hi @jonycodes,

Can you check that version number again? I think that must be a typo; there is no OJS 1.2.7.

Regards,
Alec Smecher

Yea sorry, it’s 2.1.1

It’s 2.1.1 and I’m thinking of upgrading it to the latest version 2.4.7. However there are some files and templates in the current version that I need to save. In order to upgrade without changing the files I have to download the new OJS version and following the instructions on the docs/upgrade file? Or do I have to follow other steps?

Hi @jonycodes,