Getting a blank page after using OMP

Hi All,

I installed OMP successfully, created users, a Press etc. However today I am going to the site and I am getting a blank page and I don’t know what seems to be the problem.

I read a bit and changed permissions to cache folder (tried 644, 755, 777 but no success) I am using filezilla FTP.
I am not very tech savvy but I managed to install it successfully the first time but now alas, I can’t even find the login screen again.

Your help will be most appreciated.
Mkuki

Hi @mkuki

Have you checked your php error log, most likely this blank screen is recording some error messge in your server log.

Other approach is double check your filesystem directories ownership (usually set with a chown command). Sometimes it is possible chmod reading permission but it can conflicting with ownership and your webserver may not access those folders or files.

Regards,
Israel Cefrin
Public Knowledge Project Team

Hi,
white screens occur sometimes because the command assert (which is usually used for automated testing) is used in some places in the code as reaction of an error instead of throwing errors or exceptions. An assert stops the program instantly without any feedback as far I can see. For example in the plug-in registry there are many cases in which assert is called if some plug-in configurations are wrong; so if you rename a plug-in-folder you will get a white screen. That’s just an example.

You may add the lines below at the top of your index.php to catch assertion faults which may help debugging. It not a guaranteed recipe to solve your problem, but maybe you can get a hint from it what is going wrong.

Best,
Paflov

function assert_failure() {
	echo'<b>assertion fault</b><pre>';
	debug_print_backtrace();
	echo '</pre>';
	die();
}

assert_options(ASSERT_CALLBACK, 'assert_failure');

Dear Sirs, Sorry I was traveling and did not have much access to an internet connection.