Class 'HookRegistry' not found

Hi all,

after installing OJS 2.3.8 it shows an error"Fatal error: Class ‘HookRegistry’ not foundlib/pkp/classes/db/DAO.inc.php on line 192"

please help

Hi @arun,

OJS 2.3.8 is extremely old; I’d suggest using the most recent 2.4.x release.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team

thanks for your reply,

actually I am a beginner to OJS,I installed this older version to learn how to upgrade this OJS to higher version,but then this error occurs.Is this a problem with PHP Version ?

Hi @arun,

Yes, that’s very likely (or perhaps because of an old issue we had with APC). If you want to experiment with upgrading, I’d suggest starting with something newer like 2.4.3. The upgrade process is the same.

Regards,
Alec Smecher

1 Like

Okay

Thank you for your valuable support

hello;
we moved our site from a server to a new server and we countered two problems:

Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in/home/moanassar1m/public_html/lib/pkp/classes/session/Session.inc.php on line 64

Fatal error: Class ‘HookRegistry’ not found in /home/moanassar1m/public_html/lib/pkp/classes/db/DAO.inc.php on line 192

we do change the code within this document lib/pkp/classes/session/Session.inc.php
as the following:

from this one : if (session_is_registered($key))

to this one: if ($_SESSION[$key])

the results was that the first error disappeared.

regarding the second error we follow the instructions about replacing the line
if ($callHooks === true && checkPhpVersion(‘4.3.0’) && false)

but this leads to another error

Fatal error: Class ‘Core’ not found in /home/moanassar1m/public_html/lib/pkp/classes/db/DAO.inc.php on line 197

so we role back this change if ($callHooks === true && checkPhpVersion(‘4.3.0’) && false)