Security problem

Hi, we administer in the servers of our university 5 journals. Recently we suffer an attack that create a different index.php and also change the name of the folder files/journals.
I’m relatively new to OJS and totaly new to this issues of security, but from the things that I already readed and what I see in my apache logs, I can guess that the attack is something related to some kind of exploit or LFI using proc/self/environ method.
There is any report of something like this?
This is a problem related to OJS or some of my configurations?
One thing that maybe could create the problem is that the owner of the files was www-data user.

Hi @malayibiri,

Unfortunately it’s hard to know without more information – but one means of attack that we’re aware of is uploading malicious .php files as submissions. If your files directory is available for direct access via the web server, it’s possible for the attacker to construct a URL that then accesses the PHP file directly to get it executed. This is not a vulnerability in OJS, but a dangerous deployment. It’s noted on the installation form and elsewhere that the files directory should not be directly accessible; typically you should put it outside the web root or protect it from direct access using an .htaccess file or similar mechanism.

Regards,
Alec Smecher
Public Knowledge Project Team

Hi @asmecher, thanks for your answer!!!
I can’t tell you more information because of my limited knowledge of OJS and my bad english. But I think you are right, my files directory was in the OJS root directory and owned by www-data user with 775 permission, that’s exactly the kind of dangerous deployment that you mention, I think. The same was for the index.php file.
Most probably, what happened was that “the attacker to construct a URL…” as you said.